The Community of Democracies bestows the Geremek Award and Palmer Prize on dedicated individuals who have made significant contributions to democracy and human rights.

Recipients come from different countries, continents and historical contexts, but all share the same commitment to the values that the Community is committed to supporting and defending around the world.