The United States of America Presidency:

The United States of America assumed the Presidency of the Community of Democracies (CoD) in July 2015 at the VIII Ministerial Conference in El Salvador.

The Governing Council has approved three priorities for the Community during the Presidency of the United States:

Democracy and Security
Protecting and Enabling Civil Society
Democracy and Development

The Presidency of the Community of Democracies chairs the Governing Council and the Executive Committee. Its responsibilities include setting the priorities of the Community of Democracies and plan of action for the biennium. Representing the Community during its term of office, the Presidency oversees the activities of the Community as well as the Permanent Secretariat and may propose the establishment of new CoD Working Groups. It is also authorized to initiate or propose specific actions in urgent or emergency situations.

The Presidency is transferred to a different Governing Council state every two years during the Ministerial Conferences. It is assisted by the preceding and succeeding Presidencies and is supported by the Executive Committee in carrying out its functions.