Working Groups

Working Groups are a voluntary structure within the Community that enable democratic governments to engage in coordinated action in support of democracy and human rights in partnership with civil society organizations.

First established in 2005, the Community’s Working Groups are intended to extend the reach and impact of activities that support the values expressed in the Warsaw Declaration.

Each of the six Working Groups are chaired by one or two Governing Council member states and includes at least two representatives from civil society.

Working groups serve as means for disseminating information and knowledge on best practices, coming up with practical initiatives to promote and support democracy at all levels. Each working group prepares a substantive work plan for its area of attention, in consultation with the Presidency, and leads the implementation of specific activities identified therein.